Leather Pulls


Leather Pulls{I love the way the pink reflects onto the white cabinetry}

The other day I was feeling particularly annoyed by how boring and off-the-shelf my cabinet pulls were.  In my little studio I have to look at those cabinets all day long, so I wanted something special and different.  I was playing around with some leather for another project and it gave me an idea.  Forget hardware, I’m going to make Software! :) (I was pretty thrilled with this little pun)  It was so simple and SUPER inexpensive (yay!)

My cabinets went

IMG_20130502_161333 copy

IMG_20130502_161205 copy

Here’s how you can make your own:

  1. Cut strips of leather (as many pulls as you’ll need) to 1 1/4″ x 5″ (If you want to add color to the underside, now’s the time)
  2. Use the felt-tip pen to mark a dot where you want your screw to go
  3. Make the hole for the screw using a phillips screw driver and a couple whacks of your hammer
  4. Push your screw through the hole and secure it to the cabinet with a hex nut
  5. Enjoy your new software!

software{Add paint + brush to your supply list if you want to add a pop of color on the underside like I did}

IMG_20130428_195110

IMG_20130428_213614

A little creativity goes a long way!

Sig

One thought on “Leather Pulls

  1. nice. to keep the leather from ripping at screw heads place a flat rubber washer slightly larger than the screw head under the screw head (& b$ the leather)and behind the leather b4 screwing it in :)

Please leave a reply here

