Say Yes to the Dress..er


OK, give me a break for the ridiculous post title, it sounded clever at the time.

I’ve got a little project brewing that I’ve been wanting to do for way too long now, like 5 years too long… and I’m actually a little embarrassed that I haven’t done it yet. That said, I have a dresser that needs to be jazzed up. It was originally my dad’s when he was young, and I took it to college with me when I moved (heaven forbid I buy a new one.. they’re expensive!). One of the drawers has the word “Balls” carved into it. Get your mind out of the gutter! It was my dad’s ball drawer when he was little, baseballs, wiffle balls, what-have-you. Anyways, it was funny and sort-of sentimental, but after enjoying its nostalgia for the last 5 years, I’m finally ready to sand away that carving.

The only problem is I’m a little torn on what exactly to do to it. It’s a tall 5-drawer wood dresser with no hardware…

{Option #1: Grey chevron stripes! I think I would want to sand and finish the wood instead of the white though just because I love the warmth of natural wood and the rest of my bedroom furniture is currently painted}

{Option #2: another trendy look – Ombré! I would probably do a spectrum of teals similar to the first photo}

{Or I could go for a crazy bold color for the whole thing. I love this campaign dresser in kelly green, especially with the brass hardware}

Please help me decide! What’s your vote?

Images via: 1/2/3/4
2 thoughts on “Say Yes to the Dress..er

  1. The best advice I ever read was to stick to what you LOVE because then everything will go together nicely. If I love something then I grab it even if it is not trendy. My kids’ friends and mine love our place and I am always amazed because it is filed with old stuff. I think it’s all the LOVE happening here! ~ Wendy
    ( BTW, I LOVE your title!)

Please leave a reply here

