Colorful Stairs


{This is our inspiration for the project!}

Sorry about the lack of posts the last few days! It’s been busy around here, but I’m so excited to share the plans for a project I’ve been devising for the family I’m living with. If you didn’t already know, I’m a live-in nanny (just part-time) for a terrific family with 5 kiddos.. triplets (6 months) and two boys (3&6). Betsy, (the mom) is super hip and has really fun taste; she loves bold colors, and we’ve come up with a plan to use them in some unexpected ways! ;)

So, here’s the scoop. Their staircase is in the very front of the house, and is one of the first things you see when you walk in. It’s currently carpeted.. our plan is to rip up the carpet, re-surface the stairs, and have them painted in a bold color spectrum! We just spoke with a contractor a couple of days ago and I can’t wait to find out when we’ll be able to get started!

When Betsy first told me that she wanted to do something fun and different for the stairs, I started looking around for inspiration, (on Pinterest of course!). I found some really fun ideas…

{I think these various patterns were stenciled on}

{Clever idea using wallpaper on the risers}

{I’ve always loved the look of colorful mexican tiles, so bright and cheery!}

{We don’t have the space for a staircase like this, but I love the idea of using it as practical shelves. It would be fantastic for plants or other large items too}

These last two are just kind of fun and fantastic…

I’ll keep you updated with this project ;) I have others to share later this week!

Images via 1/2/3/4/5/6/7

2 thoughts on “Colorful Stairs

Please leave a reply here

